Kansas City DWI Penalties
The Guilfoil Law Group Can Help Defend Your Rights & Freedom
If you have been arrested on DWI charges, there are a broad range of penalties you could be facing. We offer the most reliable advice on DWI-related charges. Managing member J. Matthew Guilfoil has written for the Missouri Bar Association, has been quoted in Missouri Lawyer’s Weekly, instructed classes on DWI to law enforcement and is a certified operator of the two breath-testing machines used by Missouri police. Our Kansas City DWI attorneys specialize only in DWI law: we are here to take the burden off your shoulders and provide the best defense possible.
Penalties for Receiving a DWI in Missouri
- First offense: Up to 6 months jail time, a fine of up to $500, 30-day license suspension, possible probation and extra license suspension.
- Second offense: Up to 1 year in jail for a prior offender, up to 4 years in jail for a persistent offender, prior offenders can receive up to a $1,000 fine and a persistent offender can receive up to a $5,000 fine, both offenders will have their license revoked for one year, 30 days of community service for prior offenders and 60 days of community service for persistent offenders.
- Third offense: Felony DWI. Up to 5 years jail time, mandatory drug/alcohol treatment program, mandatory Interlock system on your car, a fine of up to $5,000 and a 10-year revocation of your license.
Let our award-winning team assist you in combatting the charges you may be facing. Our skill and experience in DWI cases are extensive, and we may be able to minimize the penalties you face or eliminate them altogether.
A Client-First Approach to Law
Our first and only focus is on fighting for the best interests of our clients. As highly knowledgeable Kansas City DWI attorneys, our team at The Guilfoil Law Group have a comprehensive understanding of Missouri's DWI laws.
Choose us to defend against your DWI charge. Contact us today at (816) 470-0172 for a free consultation.